Halfway through 2015

How are your New Year’s Resolutions coming along? If you’re like me – the old-fashioned type who still makes them.

For me, they’ve worked to keep me on track with a specific life goal – be it a tangible achievement like skydiving or seeing the Eiffel Tower, or general improvement in a certain facet of life: physical health, stress, financial management etc.

If you remember, I said in January that I’d set a goal to run a half marathon (21km) within the calendar year. I even said it on the air as a small way of holding myself accountable. Since January 6th, I’ve been working behind the scenes to prepare. I love athletics, but this is was a brand new challenge worthy of much more endurance and ability than anything I’d done before.

Sacrifices? Heck yes. Those times at the end of a long work day when I just wanted to plop on the couch and snooze? I went out running instead. Weekend BBQ’s missed because Sundays are training days? Yes, unfortunately. And cutting back on beer? Man.

This week, I crossed the finish line of my first half marathon, and crossed “run a half marathon” off of the “Goals for 2015” list posted on my fridge. Makes me happy! -Adam

PopSugar just put out a pretty insightful new list: “13 Things You Must Give Up to Be Happy”

  1. Bad spending habits! Stop accumulating debt. Make a budget and stick to it!
  2. Waiting for the perfect moment. There’s never the perfect time. Live in the moment.
  3. Give up you social media obsession.
  4. Give up living in the past.
  5. Give up yearning to fit in.
  6. Give up your disorganized lifestyle.
  7. Give up over-analyzing situations.
  8. Give up your need to have the best things.
  9. Give up toxic relationships.
  10. Give up your hesitation to indulge. Have fun every now and then.
  11. Give up comparing yourself to others.
  12. Give up your packed schedule.
  13. Give up relying on others to make you feel happy and fulfilled.
Leave a Reply

